UpcomingEmployment Contracts: What Canadian Employers Need to Know">
  • June 15, 2021
    1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Employment Contracts: What Canadian Employers Need to Know

Date: Tuesday, June 15, 2021

Employment agreements are one of the most effective tools employers have at their disposal, particularly when it comes to limiting termination costs and liability. However, contracts need to be precisely drafted to ensure they are binding, enforceable, and serve their desired purpose.  AEC has assembled a panel of knowledgeable speakers from coast to coast who, in this informative webinar, will review the latest case law developments, as well as provide practical tips and strategies to address these common contractual issues:

 

  • Termination provisions: is it possible to limit an employee’s entitlements to the minimums prescribed by legislation?
  • Fixed-term agreements: are time-limited contracts ever a good idea?
  • Incentives and bonuses: will an employee be entitled to these forms of compensation post-termination?
  • Restrictive covenants: just how restrictive can they be?
  • Amending an agreement: can terms and conditions of employment be revised after a contract is in place?
  • The COVID effect: how has the ongoing pandemic changed the drafting of employment agreements?

 

Panelists:

Jacques Provencher – LeCorre Lawyers

Casey Dockendorff – Filion Wakely Thorup Angeletti LLP

Vicki Giles – McLennan Ross LLP

Dean Crawford – Pulver Crawford Munroe LLP

Melissa Beaumont – Thompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP

Geoff Breen – Cox & Palmer

 

Who Should Attend?

This webinar is designed for in-house counsel, human resources and labour relations professionals.

 

RSVP
Date: Tuesday, June 15, 2021
1:00 pm Central | 2:00 pm Eastern | 3:00 pm Atlantic | 12:00 pm Mountain | 11:00 am Pacific 

AEC Member Firms: Cox & Palmer; Fillion Wakely Thorup Angeletti LLP; LeCorre Lawyers; McLennan Ross LLP; Pulver Crawford Munroe LLP; Thompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP

 

TDS Speakers