Advocates for Employers of Canada (AEC) Webinar Update on COVID-19

 

published 04/02/2020

Thompson Dorfman Sweatman is a proud member of Advocates for Employers of Canada (AEC). AEC is an alliance of management-side labour and employment law practitioners from across Canada. We advocate for clients in every sector of the economy, from large multi-national corporations, mid-size national and local organizations, to entrepreneurs, not-for-profits, and we advise at all levels of government.

As COVID-19 continues to spread, employers are faced with an increasing number of challenges which range from maintaining workplace health and safety, to ensuring ongoing business viability. Join us for an informative online session with AEC lawyers from each jurisdiction across the country.  In this session we will review:

  • Government and employment standards initiatives in each Canadian jurisdiction
  • Tips and best practices for maintaining health and safety – social distancing initiatives, temperature checks, schedule changes, etc.
  • Use of salary reductions, leaves, temporary layoffs, and wage subsidies to deal with closures and revenue challenges
  • Available alternatives – Work Share Program, Supplemental Employment Benefit Program, etc.

Tuesday, April 7, 2020

1:00 pm Central | 2:00 pm Eastern | 3:00 pm Atlantic | 12:00 pm Mountain | 11:00 am Pacific


DISCLAIMER: This article is presented for informational purposes only. The content does not constitute legal advice or solicitation and does not create a solicitor client relationship. The views expressed are solely the authors’ and should not be attributed to any other party, including Thompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP (TDS), its affiliate companies or its clients. The authors make no guarantees regarding the accuracy or adequacy of the information contained herein or linked to via this article. The authors are not able to provide free legal advice. If you are seeking advice on specific matters, please contact Keith LaBossiere, CEO & Managing Partner at kdl@tdslaw.com, or 204.934.2587. Please be aware that any unsolicited information sent to the author(s) cannot be considered to be solicitor-client privileged.

While care is taken to ensure the accuracy for the purposes stated, before relying upon these articles, you should seek and be guided by legal advice based on your specific circumstances. We would be pleased to provide you with our assistance on any of the issues raised in these articles.